OCGOV Home Living & Working Law & Justice Health & Human Care Doing Business Board of Supervisors Agency Directory Jobs Search
Orange County Government Online
Quick Jump Menus

Online Services | OC Links | OC Info | News | Contact | OC Directory | FAQs | Sitemap |   
left top scan lines curve
Left bottom scan lines

2008 Blue arrow down
2007 Blue arrow down
2006 Blue arrow down
2005 Blue arrow down
2004 Blue arrow down
2003 Blue arrow down
2002 Blue arrow down
2001 Blue arrow down
2000 Blue arrow down
1999 Blue arrow down
1998 Blue arrow down
1997 Blue arrow down
1996 Blue arrow down
1995 Blue arrow down
Press Release
April 10, 2001
Contact: Diane Thomas
County Redistricting Package Debut
(Santa Ana, CA) - The County's redistricting committee will present the redistricting package to County residents at 2 p.m., April 11 in the Board hearing room, Hall of Administration, 10 Civic Center Plaza, Santa Ana. The redistricting package contains all information and forms necessary for a member of the public to submit a redistricting proposal to the County.

Committee members will explain how to submit plans to the Board of Supervisors proposing how the County should be divided into Supervisorial districts for the next 10 years.

After evaluating public proposals, the County Redistricting Committee will present a redistricting plan to the Board of Supervisors. The Board will hold a public hearing on July 17 to consider the proposed plan. The Board of Supervisors will hold another public hearing to adopt a redistricting ordinance on August 21. The public has 30 days to challenge the ordinance after its adoption.

The Board established the redistricting committee last October to guide the redistricting process and develop recommendations utilizing the 2000 Census. The current districts were established in 1991 using 1990 Census data. The committee is composed of representatives from each Supervisorial District.

Committee members include Chairman James Campbell of the First District; Vice Chairman Paul Hernandez of the Third District; Nina Hull, Second District;

Dean Olsen, Fourth District, and Holly Veale, Fifth District.